Tags

, , , , ,

The first day of this class was definitely a wake up calling saying, “this is the beginning of the rest of your life,” and it was a bit hard to take in everything. Now, having an actual client and working on actual problems, it seems much easier than I had expected.

It was exciting to receive our team assignments! At my current job I don’t get to interact with a bunch of people because I am working on Web sites or making ads to go in The Daily Reveille and simply facing a computer. I enjoy working with others and I can’t wait to one day be apart of a team like the one we have in class.

The first meeting with the client:

I believe it went quite well. Karli, at Playmakers, seemed very thrilled to have us help her out this semester. She kept reiterating that she was “just one person” and I kept thinking, “But now you have six more persons!” I think we can do a lot of good working for Playmakers over the next few months and I hope to learn skills that will help me in the future.

My first task is to hopefully make a trailer for their next performance, Pinocchio. Being the Design Director I am very excited about incorporating film into our project. I also get to try and figure out anew logo for Playmakers, something revamped and younger feeling. She said that a couple people have tried and failed, making nothing that really impressed her, but I hope I can create something that she will love and use.

Karli also needs to become more social media savvy. Up until last semester I was still against having multiple media outlets for personal use. I did not change my mind about them until one PRSSA meeting where the speaker went on and on about how we, mass communicators, need to be involved on every platform of social media. No one had ever said that to me, it clicked instantly that because I am going into a field that relies heavily on every media outlet, it is only logical that I be familiar with them all.  And thank goodness that I did. I would be confused trying to teach a client on how to deal with social networking if I myself did not have accounts.

“The learning and knowledge that we have, is, at the most, but little compared with that of which we are ignorant.”

– Plato

